X
302-616-1028

Reviews & Press

Go to:   Reviews | Press

October 13, 2016
Get Hooked Up with bargain brews in Millville
As seen in DelmarvaNow

Everyone loves a good discount, and one Millville seafood eatery hooks up its patrons on a daily basis.

The Hooked Up Ale House & Raw Bar on Route 26 features happy hour specials on both food and booze from 3-6 p.m.

May 19, 2016
10 beach restaurants you shouldn't miss
As seen in DelawareOnline
Off the Hook, Bethany Beach, offthehookbethany.com. Billing itself as a hot spot for the local food crowd, this seafood eatery buys from area farmers and anglers. Opened in 2010, Off The Hook was founded by the owners of the Indian River Seafood Company. They’ve since opened two more restaurants, Just Hooked, in Fenwick Island and Hooked, in Ocean City, Maryland.
May 10, 2016
The 12 Most Highly Rated Restaurants In Delaware
As seen in Only In Your State
Off The Hook is an elevated alternative to boardwalk food in Bethany Beach. There's only so many times you can have crab fries, right? Maybe? Their fried calimari is crispy but not greasy at all. It's so delicious you won't want to share with anyone else at the table!
May 3, 2016
The 10 Best Restaurants On Maryland's Eastern Shore
As seen in The Culture Trip
Since 2013, Hooked has been offering a more upscale dining option that is leagues ahead of the sometimes tacky restaurants that you will find on the boardwalk. The restaurant is part of a family of five eateries that have opened up across Maryland and Delaware in the last five years. Visiting Hooked, it is easy to see why it is gaining momentum. The menu is centered around both sea and land options that are thoughtfully designed around fresh catches and bright flavors.
Delicious scallops with grits and corn
March 28, 2016
Just Hooked – Fresh, Upscale Seafood
As seen in Resort Pointe
So you are enjoying your beach vacation rental home in Fenwick Island. Eating lots of “beach food”: crabs, pizza, sandwiches, boardwalk fries, caramel corn and other treats, and looking to get out for some “real” food for an evening. Be sure to try Just Hooked on the Coastal Highway in Fenwick Island. Opened in 2011, Just Hooked features signature seafood and other American fare as well as yummy cocktails.
March 15, 2016
The 15 Best Places for An Octopus in Ocean City
As seen in Foursquare
According to a Foursquare blog, Hooked holds the #1 ranking on the The 15 Best Places for An Octopus in Ocean City list.
Fish at Hooked Up Ale House & Raw Bar in Millville, DE.
June 5, 2015
Hagen Launches Fourth Restaurant with Hooked Up Ale House
As seen in Coastal Point
You know them all by name — mostly, because they’re all kind of the same. First, there was Off the Hook in Bethany Beach. Before long, Just Hooked followed in Fenwick Island. Then, more success. More restaurants. More puns. Eventually, Hooked opened up in Ocean City, Md. But just when you thought Steve Hagen and the Off the Hook Restaurant Group were running out of names, they’re at it again — launching Hooked Up Ale House & Raw Bar in Millville this week, their fourth restaurant in just six years. And, this time, there’s a real hook.
Just Hooked Location
May 8, 2015
Three "Hooked" locations offer up twists on classics
As seen in OceanCity.com
With the “Hooked” empire entering five years in the Maryland/Delaware area, the ocean-to-table restaurants continue to rack up awards without succumbing to pesky things like pretension, or extremely high price points. Owners Steve Hagen and Kevin Frey opened the flagship restaurant, Off the Hook, in Bethany in 2010, followed by Just Hooked in Fenwick Island in 2011, and Hooked, in Ocean City, in 2013. Executive Chef Matt Cornelius develops the menus at all three locations.
Chef Steve Hagens
April 27, 2015
'Hooked' on a feeling: Chef Steve Hagen's story
As seen in Delmarva Now
The Steve Hagen of today is very different from the Steve Hagen of 10 years ago. Back then he was jobless, broke and living on the streets. He was an alcoholic and addicted to a number of drugs. "I was in a very dark place," he says. "I had almost given up." With his life spiraling out of control, the Sussex County native relocated to Bethany Beach and his life finally started to turn around. He checked himself into a detox center and managed to get a job as a line cook at Steakhouse 26 in Millville.
Scallops from Off The Hook in Bethany Beach, DE
April 19, 2015
Off the Hook
As seen in Rehoboth Foodie
Another special was Seared Tuna, perfectly cooked with a beet-red center. But the kicker was the bright green soybean puree upon which it rested. It looked a little like guacamole, but one taste revealed a mild mixture of soybeans with a pinch of ginger, pepper flakes and cream surrounded by a lake of an ever-so-slightly-sweet orange/soy nage (a la nage = the vegetable sauce/bouillon in which the fish is poached is also served on the plate). I had the Blackened Mahi Mahi. The Chef’s seafood comfort-zone was evident, and yet again, the associated veggies were a hit. An al dente soy bean/corn succotash was served in a spicy (no “wimp factor” here!) tomato/beer broth along with cheddar grits drizzled with herbed oil.
Scallops featured in 15 Best Delaware Restaurants article.
March 18, 2015
15 Delaware Restaurants That Will Blow The Taste Buds Out Of Your Mouth
As seen in Movato
According to Movato, Off The Hook is #6 on the list of 15 Delaware Restaurants That Will Blow The Taste Buds Out Of Your Mouth.
Off The Hook Kitchen Prep
February 1, 2015
Our 50 Favorite Restaurants
As seen in Delaware Today
Tucked in a small strip center with a deck that faces a parking lot, Off The Hook appears unassuming. Yet, Steve Hagen’s restaurant, the first of three, turns out some memorable meals. Hagen worked at Big Fish Grill and Catch 54 before flying solo. Even without the telltale restaurant name, you can bet seafood is a good choice. Hagen is also devoted to local vendors. Must try: Crab cakes are a specialty.
Crab Dip at Just Hooked in Fenwick Island, DE.
August 22, 2014
Dinner at Just Hooked (Fenwick Island, DE)
As seen in A Famished Foodie
One thing I love about dining at the beach is that most places generally stick to one type of cuisine. There aren’t thirty pages of menu to go through that include everything from Asian-style Lettuce Wraps to Shrimp Scampi to Papas Bravas. Unless a kitchen is run by an Asian married to an Italian who grew up in Spain, all of these things shouldn’t be on one menu. Luckily, the restaurants around this area tend to realize that people are looking for quality and simplicity when going out after a humid day of lying on the sand.
Hooked Sign in Ocean City, MD.
July 1, 2013
Get on Board with Hooked - It's a Great Ride
As seen in OceanCity.com
Hooked Restaurant; in Ocean City, MD, is the sister property to two other popular local seafood restaurants; Off the Hook in Bethany Beach, De and Just Hooked in Fenwick Island, De. All three properties have the same basic concept “to offer the freshest seafood, innovative cuisines and exceptional service” and fortunately for all of us on the Delmarva Peninsula they pretty much succeed at all three. Their newest property just opened for the 2013 vacation season in a structure that was once the old La Hacienda restaurant but walking in you would not recognize the room.
Hooked Restaurant in Ocean City, MD.
May 24, 2013
Hooked opens on 80th Street
As seen in OceanCity.com
Buttermilk battered calamari with a spicy mayo and micro celery; crab dip with gruyere mornay, bacon, leeks and Old Bay chips and grilled marinated tuna with house kimchi and sesame peanut sauce are just a few of the appetizers offered at Hooked restaurant on 80th Street in Ocean City. The fourth Indian River Seafood Company eatery opened its doors last Thursday. All four company establishments feature different menus, but have the same concept: farm fresh, local cuisine, said owner Steve Hagen.

Reviews

Rebecca S.
Bethany Beach, DE
July 16, 2017
All around great place - Awesome food. Great service. Perfect spot to hang out, play some pool, and have great food/drinks! Will totally be back again!
Molly E.
Red Lion, PA
July 20, 2017
So good - Had a great first time at Hooked Up. My husband and I had the bisque, fish tacos, and calamari for lunch. Everything was good, but I've never had calamari that good. It came with pickled, fried jalapeños, cashews, and a sweet chili sauce. So good. C... Show More Had a great first time at Hooked Up. My husband and I had the bisque, fish tacos, and calamari for lunch. Everything was good, but I've never had calamari that good. It came with pickled, fried jalapeños, cashews, and a sweet chili sauce. So good. Courtney was nice, friendly, and was a very attentive server. Would definitely come back! Show Less
Jerry H.
March 13, 2016
Excellent Food! - Excellent! Had crab bisque, lamb meatballs, pork belly gnocchi and truffle bacon cheese fries. Each dish was delicious. Service was great too. Highly recommended.
tmj1125
Mountain Top, PA
August 30, 2015
Awesome! - Amazing food and great atmosphere! Will return next trip to the area! Not really a bad thing to say about the place even the kids ate everything on their plates!
Nolan L.
Blew me away - Last night was my first time at Off The Hook and i expected a great dining experience, but it blew me away. Atmosphere is top notch fine dining. Christian is an old friend and was a classmate of mine in college. His food is absolutely amazing. His ab... Show More Last night was my first time at Off The Hook and i expected a great dining experience, but it blew me away. Atmosphere is top notch fine dining. Christian is an old friend and was a classmate of mine in college. His food is absolutely amazing. His ability to pair flavors in a dish is unmatched in my opinion. The bartender - I believe his name was Dennis, was awesome. Very personable and real easy-going. Loved every minute of my visit! Will definitely be back again next time I come to delaware for vacation!!! Show Less
Claire S.
Arlington, VA
September 3, 2015
Really awesome wings - Ordered peach strawberry sangria, jerk wings, crab corn Flatbread and a side of cheesy grits. Really awesome wings. The wings are the whole wing still attached, comes with 5 and they were super tasty. Two of my party ordered cioppino and they lik... Show More Ordered peach strawberry sangria, jerk wings, crab corn Flatbread and a side of cheesy grits. Really awesome wings. The wings are the whole wing still attached, comes with 5 and they were super tasty. Two of my party ordered cioppino and they liked it. That dish had big shrimp and a nice sauce. One of us had fish and chips and it was pretty good but he loved the French fries most. My sweetheart ordered an orange crush which he said was "ridiculously good". My sangria was pretty nice as well. Show Less
mkinnahan
Bethany Beach, DE
February 18, 2015
Good Seafood Restaurant - Excellent staff. Owner is always checking on things to make your dinner a pleasant experience. His other places as just as good--Hooked in OC and Just Hooked in Fenwick Island.
Courtney P.
Littlestown, PA
July 16, 2015
Happy hour is a steal - After a dinner at Off The Hook, a sister restaurant, we thought we would try Hooked Up the following evening. Happy hour is a steal, the drinks and meals were both satisfying and easy on my wallet. The wings were meaty, the muscles were HUGE, and the... Show More After a dinner at Off The Hook, a sister restaurant, we thought we would try Hooked Up the following evening. Happy hour is a steal, the drinks and meals were both satisfying and easy on my wallet. The wings were meaty, the muscles were HUGE, and the burger was juicy - obviously made there that day. The Peanut fudge brownie sundae was to die for - the perfect way to end a great meal. The wait staff was attentive and were very familiar with the menu. Show Less
Joy B.
Rokcville, MD
August 8, 2015
Finer selection of entrees - Tired of the boardwalk food? Looking for a little finer selection of entrees to chose from? How does house made paella sound to you or maybe you are a shrimp and grits person? Off the Hook has the perfect bait to snag your taste buds. We started of... Show More Tired of the boardwalk food? Looking for a little finer selection of entrees to chose from? How does house made paella sound to you or maybe you are a shrimp and grits person? Off the Hook has the perfect bait to snag your taste buds. We started off our dinner with the mussels and also the crab dip appetizers. The creamy crab dip was served on top of pizza style triangles of bread. It was so good I devoured two pieces in 3 minutes. The mussels were not a favorite. They were too small and the broth was peppery. Then we ordered shrimp and grits with andouille sausage. The grits were smooth and creamy. The shrimp were large and perfectly cooked. It was delicious. I would like to return and try the paella and pan fried scallops. Our server was terrific and helped us get in and out in a hurry. If you are in Bethany Beach, Delaware I am sure you will be satisfied with a great meal. Show Less
Mike M.
Wilmington, DE
October 11, 2015
High end service and food quality - Just Hooked is a consistent restaurant you can always count on for high end service and food quality.
Toritwo
July 5, 2017
Really good! - Family on 4th of July. If you get there between 3 and 6 food is priced at happy hour prices! We had burgers, fish tacos, calamari, sangria, soup. All really good! Service was fast, food was delicious. Great atmosphere. Need to try the other "hooked" ... Show More Family on 4th of July. If you get there between 3 and 6 food is priced at happy hour prices! We had burgers, fish tacos, calamari, sangria, soup. All really good! Service was fast, food was delicious. Great atmosphere. Need to try the other "hooked" restaurants in the area. 4 different ones. Will go back! Show Less
Frank M.
March 14, 2016
Great Happy Hour - You can't beat the food or the prices at Hooked Up's daily 3-6 pm Happy Hour. Only wish they had Guinness on tap. Burger and chicken sandwiches were excellent as was the steamed shrimp. Total bill, with tip, was $28 and that included two beers.
Kristin H.
July 9, 2017
Unforgettable - I cannot stop thinking about our meal there- 2 nights ago!!!!. the gnocchi appetizer is unbelievably delicious. even the focaccia bread is unforgettable. Go! Eat here!
Kathy J.
South Bethany, DE
October 26, 2015
I love this restaurant! - The food is always fresh, and they always listen to customer requests. The menu changes with the seasons and is a great farm to table restaurant.
McCall S.
January 2, 2016
Off the Hook! - This place is off the hook! Been looking for a place like this around the beaches since I moved here a year and a half ago. Nice but affordable and personal. And delicious! Love!
StacyPH
Bethesda, Maryland
July 9, 2017
Great food - We loved this restaurant last year when we read about it on Trip Advisor and we knew we had to return again this year while here on vacation. The food is delicious with a great presentation and the service is excellent. They accommodated our special ... Show More We loved this restaurant last year when we read about it on Trip Advisor and we knew we had to return again this year while here on vacation. The food is delicious with a great presentation and the service is excellent. They accommodated our special request to substitute halibut for salmon for the special of the day. The salted caramel martini was outstanding. We will be back again. Show Less
Jim B.
Buffalo, NY
September 9, 2015
Everything went swimmingly - I feel strongly that if one were to eat at Hooked for an extended period of time it may actual speed up their evolutionary clock - causing one to develop gills, fins and scales - in an effort to get closer to the source of the delectable, deep-sea di... Show More I feel strongly that if one were to eat at Hooked for an extended period of time it may actual speed up their evolutionary clock - causing one to develop gills, fins and scales - in an effort to get closer to the source of the delectable, deep-sea dishes served with perfection here. As I write this now I can't help but to hear those steel drums and xylophones in the background as the crab from that movie harmoniously leads schools of fish and scores of clams in singing "Under The Sea", while I creep up on the unsuspecting whole lot of them poised to strike for a snack like the hungry merman that I've become. Reading this review and wondering if maybe I might have a negative comment to say about Hooked? I wouldn't hold your breath. The food, the service, the atmosphere... let's just say that everything went swimmingly. I was a tough call choosing between the Seared Scallops and the Cioppino. Both dishes sounded like seafood heaven to me, but I sided with the Cioppino with it sounding more like a smorgasbord having shrimp, scallops, clams, fin fish, mussels, and even a little chorizo sausage in it. It was a good choice. I found myself sucking the broth up with a straw when I finished. No, I'm not proud, but I never have claimed to be. Our server said Hooked is known for its sea scallops, and with this being Ocean City, I had Maryland blue crab on my mind... So, just to be safe I order a side crab cake and a side of scallops. Decandent? I know, but man was it worth it. I paid for it in the end... literally... when the bill came around, but still worth it. Well, I didn't just get the crab cake and scallops for me, I shared them with the table. Just like the table shared some of the best calimari I've ever eaten with me... you know, squid pro quo... (ok, I'll strike that last poorly devised joke from the record). I suppose that instead of evolving into a predatory fish it might be easier and faster to just get a job washing dishes at Hooked. That way you can scrap up and eat all the left over food from the bus pans (if any) and simply lick the Cioppino bowls clean instead of slurpping it up daintily with a straw like a snob, which is how I was forced to do it being that I was in public space. Show Less
Colleen N.
Galesville, MD
August 31, 2015
Generous portions - My family and I ate here yesterday for lunch (my parents own a home in the area). This was my first time dining here. I was very impressed with our experience. The menu is great, our food came out quickly, and our server was very attentive. I'... Show More My family and I ate here yesterday for lunch (my parents own a home in the area). This was my first time dining here. I was very impressed with our experience. The menu is great, our food came out quickly, and our server was very attentive. I'd recommend the Salmon BLT- mine was spectacular! All of meals had very generous portions. Show Less
Jessica B.
June 19, 2017
A pleasant surprise - I've had my share of disappointing experiences in Ocean City so we decided to try something new and found our new favorite restaurant when visiting OCMD. The menu is fairly small but the food is fresh and cooked to perfection. The kids' menu has a ni... Show More I've had my share of disappointing experiences in Ocean City so we decided to try something new and found our new favorite restaurant when visiting OCMD. The menu is fairly small but the food is fresh and cooked to perfection. The kids' menu has a nice selection, excellent dessert options, staff was extremely friendly and accommodating, atmosphere was comfortable and relaxed. What a pleasant surprise this was! Show Less
Dottie F.
July 29, 2017
Great Dinner - Started with the crab dip which was great. It had a lot of crab in it and was served with a warm baquetee. We both had the scallops with corn and grits. It was delicious. Scallops we're seared perfectly. For dessert we had a strawberry shortcake with... Show More Started with the crab dip which was great. It had a lot of crab in it and was served with a warm baquetee. We both had the scallops with corn and grits. It was delicious. Scallops we're seared perfectly. For dessert we had a strawberry shortcake with fresh strawberries. Everything tasted very fresh. Our server was attentive and kind. Show Less
David H.
June 18, 2015
Awesome atmosphere. - Best bar/grill around. Amazing food, incredible beer selection, and awesome atmosphere.
Doug P.
December 23, 2015
Awesome Staff and Food - I had a guest in from out of town who has never been to any of the Hooked restaurants. She loved it from the time we entered and interacted with Linda who has an incredible sense of humor to our servers. Don't let me forget to mention the food which ... Show More I had a guest in from out of town who has never been to any of the Hooked restaurants. She loved it from the time we entered and interacted with Linda who has an incredible sense of humor to our servers. Don't let me forget to mention the food which was great. I had the special Oxbow stroganoff and she had scallops. Show Less
Marc B.
Montreal, Canada
August 5, 2017
Great job - We absolutely loved Hooked. This place was great, no wonder is tagged as one of the best places to eat in Ocean city. We ordered for starters the Crab dip which was delicious along with some old bay chicken wings and melon salad. For the mains, defin... Show More We absolutely loved Hooked. This place was great, no wonder is tagged as one of the best places to eat in Ocean city. We ordered for starters the Crab dip which was delicious along with some old bay chicken wings and melon salad. For the mains, definitely try out the pan seared scallops which were very well prepared. It's not easy to cook scallops perfectly, but they did!  We also  had the jumbo crab cake which was served with a corn purée, roasted garlic mini potatoes and snap peas. A perfect match!  Great job to the chef and staff as well as on the decor! Show Less
Marcia F.
Ocean View, DE
September 22, 2015
Best calamari - The best calamari ever so tender a must have. Had the shrimp it was wonderfully seasoned and very fresh. The staff was equally as wonderful attentive a very friendly
David D.
September 15, 2015
Excellent food at Off the Hook - Always enjoy the food there had a great fish and chips there last week. Fish were fried beautifully and was crisp and not oily plus fries are freshly made.
Melanie T.
Red Lion, PA
July 17, 2015
Fresh, creative food - Fresh, creative food. Knowledgeable wait staff who did a great job explaining the components of the dishes right down to how they were plated. The oyster appetizer and the paella were generous servings and flavorful. The paella had big shrimp and sca... Show More Fresh, creative food. Knowledgeable wait staff who did a great job explaining the components of the dishes right down to how they were plated. The oyster appetizer and the paella were generous servings and flavorful. The paella had big shrimp and scallops, plenty of mussels, and a nice smokey flavor the sausage. I will definitely be back. Show Less
Michelle R.
May 28, 2017
Incredible - The food was incredible. The service was just as good. We loved it here! I highly recommend the sea scallops, the salmon, the beet salad and the dirty banana cocktail.
Ken J.
January 31, 2016
Fried Pickles! - Awesome dining experience! Came here with our BEST friends - we all had a great experience, stealing from each other's plates, enjoying the atmosphere...even trying fried pickles for the very 1st time. Fried pickles? Who ever thought of frying sli... Show More Awesome dining experience! Came here with our BEST friends - we all had a great experience, stealing from each other's plates, enjoying the atmosphere...even trying fried pickles for the very 1st time. Fried pickles? Who ever thought of frying sliced bread and butter pickles...this place did and d#mned, were they ever so good! Wings, sliders, fries all come in different ways you can order...just simply the best! Can't wait to come back here! Show Less
Donna F.
Leesburg, VA
July 16, 2015
Top-notch - Food, ambience & service were all top-notch. The scallops were cooked to perfection, and the calamari was as good as any we've had in New England. My husband had the crab cake & it was so delicious, I wasn't even offered a taste! Best restaurant in B... Show More Food, ambience & service were all top-notch. The scallops were cooked to perfection, and the calamari was as good as any we've had in New England. My husband had the crab cake & it was so delicious, I wasn't even offered a taste! Best restaurant in Bethany hands down! Show Less
Claudette Q.
Norwalk, CT
July 23, 2017
Hidden gem - Don't miss this hidden gem. Lovely staff, nicely thought out menu and specials.  Don't skip the bread - it's fresh made on site and yummy.  Cocktails were very good, food brought out quickly.  Portions were generous and satisfying. I had the soft ... Show More Don't miss this hidden gem. Lovely staff, nicely thought out menu and specials.  Don't skip the bread - it's fresh made on site and yummy.  Cocktails were very good, food brought out quickly.  Portions were generous and satisfying. I had the soft shell crab special and it was the best I've ever had. We were stuffed but managed to share a peach pie which was delish. Show Less
Fireside3351
February 27, 2016
Special Place - What a great atmosphere and dining experience. I truly wish this establishment was In my hometown! I ordered the calamari which was cooked perfectly and had a slightly spicy sauce on it. I loved it. I had the scallops for an entree and they were also... Show More What a great atmosphere and dining experience. I truly wish this establishment was In my hometown! I ordered the calamari which was cooked perfectly and had a slightly spicy sauce on it. I loved it. I had the scallops for an entree and they were also perfectly cooked. Make sure you ordered the roasted mushrooms! They were also delicious. I will definitely be going back! Show Less
Cyndi B.
November 25, 2015
Awesome Dining! - An awesome dining experience. Best place at the beach!
Carol C.
July 22, 2015
Quality and has a kid’s menu - Went with the family today and it exceeded my expectations. Tasty, quality food and has a kid's menu too. Service was superb. Definitely will be coming back when I make my way back in town.
William M.
January 16, 2016
Deserves the Rating - Really good soup,salads and seafood for four of us at a recent lunch. Service was really good and our waiter was able to create a Long Island Ice Tea without any trouble. The beet salad, oysters, cauliflower bisque and roasted broccoli were all excel... Show More Really good soup,salads and seafood for four of us at a recent lunch. Service was really good and our waiter was able to create a Long Island Ice Tea without any trouble. The beet salad, oysters, cauliflower bisque and roasted broccoli were all excellent. The restaurant is easy to miss since it is in an unassuming strip mall, at first we thought it was closed for the season. Fortunately we persevered and were treated to a great meal. Show Less
Thomas H.
February 19, 2016
Phenomenal Restaurant! - Phenomenal restaurant on the north side of the island. Locally owned and sourced. Farm to table. Foodie food. Upscale casual. In the off season they have a fantastic three course fixed price dinner on Sundays. This is one of OCMD's best restaurant... Show More Phenomenal restaurant on the north side of the island. Locally owned and sourced. Farm to table. Foodie food. Upscale casual. In the off season they have a fantastic three course fixed price dinner on Sundays. This is one of OCMD's best restaurants along with Shark on The Harbor, Blacksmith Berlin, etc. No risk place. Never a bad meal. Show Less
Carole B.
Selbyville, Delaware
June 28, 2017
All time Favorite - We've been dining at Just Hooked in Fenwick Island for 6 years and it remains our favorite. We normally dine at the "Chef's Bar" where we can watch and kibitz with the chefs and cooks. The food is always freshly prepared and beautifully presented. Sc... Show More We've been dining at Just Hooked in Fenwick Island for 6 years and it remains our favorite. We normally dine at the "Chef's Bar" where we can watch and kibitz with the chefs and cooks. The food is always freshly prepared and beautifully presented. Scallops are outstanding but any of the fresh fish are also and always outstanding. Last week I decided to eat light so I ordered appetizers - the mussels were perfectly cooked and a bit different - there were small pieces of Italian sausage in the fabulous light sauce! This was a $6 appetizer that was really a full dinner for me. Service was, as usual, helpful and courteous. By the way, even non-fish eaters love their food! Show Less
Tarra S.
Phoenix, MD
October 22, 2015
Hooked on Hooked! - My sister and I visit the restaurant at least once on every one of our frequent visits to OCMD. We have NEVER been disappointed! The food is wonderful, always fresh and delicious. The staff is friendly and accommodating. I find the quality to be supe... Show More My sister and I visit the restaurant at least once on every one of our frequent visits to OCMD. We have NEVER been disappointed! The food is wonderful, always fresh and delicious. The staff is friendly and accommodating. I find the quality to be superb ... and not just "resort" good, the restaurant could compete anywhere! The menu does change based on season and availability of certain ingredients, however some items (such as their wonderful calamari) is a menu staple. Plus, they have great off season specials! Show Less
MijMD
Bethesda, MD
June 7, 2015
You know it is a fun place when you walk in the door! - Steven Hagen and the Off the Hook restaurant group has done it again. This time a sports bar vibe. Lots of very big screen TVs, pool tables, and the fantastic food that makes every Hook restaurant the greatest. It only opened a week ago - on June 1, ... Show More Steven Hagen and the Off the Hook restaurant group has done it again. This time a sports bar vibe. Lots of very big screen TVs, pool tables, and the fantastic food that makes every Hook restaurant the greatest. It only opened a week ago - on June 1, 2015 and already all is perfect - no beat is missed. To start, we had the really fab bbq oysters (8 of them thank goodness because we would have been fighting over them!) with house whiz and burley oak pickles. We wanted to try out the kitchen so we also ordered the fire-roasted truffle parmesan wings - only one of the 5 wing choices. Cannot wait to try the others. We then went for burgers. I had the Fatty Melt - carmelized onion, swiss cheese, sriacha thousand island on marble rye with house made potato chips. OMG delicious with juices flowing up my arm. My husband had the Fungus among us burger - creamy mushrooms, swiss cheese and fried onion rings crowning the top. He opted for the fries. All more than top notch. We did not have dessert but noticed a table next to us enjoying a pretty spectacular looking sundae. 24 beers on tap plus an interesting drink menu. Of course the sports. We were very happy to watch the Washington Nationals Game - except they lost. Only downer of the night! Service great and Steve Hagen was at the door greeting everyone. We are so happy he has created another big success. We will be back there and we will bring friends and family all summer long. Show Less
DONJ67
Findlay, Ohio
July 27, 2017
AWESOME FOOD & SERVICE! - This place was right down the street from where we stayed! Researched on TA and the reviews were very good so we walked there. We had our two daughters and their families with us, four grandkids ages 9 to 16. It was a great place for everyone! Our se... Show More This place was right down the street from where we stayed! Researched on TA and the reviews were very good so we walked there. We had our two daughters and their families with us, four grandkids ages 9 to 16. It was a great place for everyone! Our server Anna was the best, the kids sat a table adjacent to our booth and she was wonderful with them and was excellent with us, never waited on a drink or beverage, she was always there asking about a refill or another before we emptied the glass. The food was absolutely the best of the week, the baked oysters, crab cakes and Caesar salad totally the best! YUMMY! Show Less
susandmaPA
March 12, 2016
Delicious Dinner, Unique Recipes - I've had 3 delicious dinners at Off the Hook in the past year, and each has been a special meal. The food is fresh and the recipes unique. Who would expect scallops over short rib stroganoff? The entrees are wonderful, but leave room for dessert. The... Show More I've had 3 delicious dinners at Off the Hook in the past year, and each has been a special meal. The food is fresh and the recipes unique. Who would expect scallops over short rib stroganoff? The entrees are wonderful, but leave room for dessert. The chocolate Terrine is a work of art. Show Less
Carole P.
Selbyville, Delaware
March 25, 2017
Great food and drinks - We love to support the local merchants. The restaurant is a nice sports atmosphere. Televisions are everywhere. We had some great food. The chorizo chili appetizer was great. Fish and shrimp tacos were tasty. Also the veggie grilled sandwich. Drinks ... Show More We love to support the local merchants. The restaurant is a nice sports atmosphere. Televisions are everywhere. We had some great food. The chorizo chili appetizer was great. Fish and shrimp tacos were tasty. Also the veggie grilled sandwich. Drinks are good and the service was great. We will definitely visit again Show Less
Meghan F.
July 17, 2015
Outstanding! - Two visits to Hooked Up have both been amazing. We went for happy hour and got nachos, shrimp, a burger, wings, as well as mac and cheese for the kids. Everything, including the service, was outstanding! We will definitely be back...so happy to have ... Show More Two visits to Hooked Up have both been amazing. We went for happy hour and got nachos, shrimp, a burger, wings, as well as mac and cheese for the kids. Everything, including the service, was outstanding! We will definitely be back...so happy to have a spot like this in the area. We have been needing one for a long time! Show Less
Bernie S.
May 8, 2017
Great sports bar - Great sports bar. Plenty of TV's with drink and food specials. Great crowd during football season.
Ronnee G.
June 22, 2017
Yummy - Blue Thyme = yummy Roasted potatoes = yummy Steamed clams = amazing Truffle mac 'n cheese = amazing Boom boom shrimp = yummy My husband and I had a wonderful dinner tonight - food and service!!
DandDH77
September 9, 2015
Great food - My wife and I saw the reviews about Hooked and it lives up to them. This is now one of our favorite places to go. Great meal and atmosphere. Server was very nice and helpful. We'll be back again.
Jim M.
Downingtown, PA
August 1, 2017
Not your average seafood dinner - Finally got to Just Hooked for dinner, and what an amazing meal!  My wife had the scallops and I had the seafood medley.  But make no mistake... these dishes are not your average seafood dinners.  The preparation & presentation of both meals w... Show More Finally got to Just Hooked for dinner, and what an amazing meal!  My wife had the scallops and I had the seafood medley.  But make no mistake... these dishes are not your average seafood dinners.  The preparation & presentation of both meals were fantastic.  You may have had scallops before, but not like this dish.  And I've had several seafood medleys, but Just Hooked's is a whole new level.  The staff makes the evening that much better, as they are attentive, courteous, and help one another out in making your experience pleasant.  Simply can't say enough, you just need to try Just Hooked! Show Less
Jodi Z.
Ocean City, MD
August 4, 2017
OC Favorite - By far my favorite place in OC.  I'm a local and love the off season specials.  I've never had a bad meal.  From the calamari, wings and crab dip, to the crabcakes, scallops, steaks, even the mashed potatoes rock- the entire menu is amazing.  Sav... Show More By far my favorite place in OC.  I'm a local and love the off season specials.  I've never had a bad meal.  From the calamari, wings and crab dip, to the crabcakes, scallops, steaks, even the mashed potatoes rock- the entire menu is amazing.  Save room for dessert because if bread pudding of any kind is on the menu, you must try it.  Bartenders are nice and attentive as well as always willing to recommend and let you try new things out based on your taste. You will not be disappointed.  It is not a large place, so be prepared on a weekend for a wait, but it is worth it.  They are open for lunch as well, which is nice. Show Less
DancingQueen012
Rehoboth Beach, Delaware
July 31, 2017
Pork Belly BLT to die for! - OK, was on my way to a favorite boutique and decided to have lunch. I have been to Off the Hook several times before and it has always been very good. However, i ordered the Soup and Sandwich. This amounted to a BLT using pork belly instead of regula... Show More OK, was on my way to a favorite boutique and decided to have lunch. I have been to Off the Hook several times before and it has always been very good. However, i ordered the Soup and Sandwich. This amounted to a BLT using pork belly instead of regular bacon. In addition, the tomato was so perfect, having come from a local farm. The soup which was a very tasty gazpacho was also "off the hook". Go to this place and check it out for yourself. You won't be sorry. Show Less
Skylar B.
August 8, 2017
We will be coming back - My mom and I went to Hooked a couple days ago because we wanted to try a new restaurant since we've been to all the big ones that everyone has heard of. We both got the corn and jalapeño crab bisque and we shared the crab dip. Both the soup and th... Show More My mom and I went to Hooked a couple days ago because we wanted to try a new restaurant since we've been to all the big ones that everyone has heard of. We both got the corn and jalapeño crab bisque and we shared the crab dip. Both the soup and the dip was really good. As our entree we both got a salad, I got the caprese salad and she got the melon salad. Both of us really enjoyed our food and we will be coming back. The service was good too, our server was very laid back and nice. Show Less
Megan M.
January 11, 2015
Friendly and Knowledgeable - Great restaurant. Love going here especially in the off season. Everything is tasty and the staff is friendly and knowledgeable
Katie R.
July 3, 2017
Great drink selection - Love this place! I've never had to wait, always have a great drink selection and fun specials, and the food is delicious!
Dorothy D.
Bernardsville, NJ
August 6, 2017
Combinations that are amazing - Amazing. From the minute you step up to tell them how many are in your party! We will be back for sure. This chef does combinations that are amazing!
Jane933997
Bethany Beach, DE
September 9, 2015
Great Seafood restaurant - Great place to go especially during the off seasons. Many specials. Ladies night is fun and be sure to go when they have $2 tacos.
Lisa F.
Haymarket, VA
August 7, 2015
Enjoyed the Appetizers & Drinks! - We had appetizers and drinks here, all of which were delicious. Small restaurant, quaint atmosphere, friendly servers. We would definitely go back.
Cheryl A.
May 30, 2015
Pleasant surprise - A pleasant surprise! We decided to try Hooked based on reviews that we found online, and we weren't disappointed. We arrived at lunchtime, and started with one of the crab and corn soup so that my kids and I could have a couple of bites while we wait... Show More A pleasant surprise! We decided to try Hooked based on reviews that we found online, and we weren't disappointed. We arrived at lunchtime, and started with one of the crab and corn soup so that my kids and I could have a couple of bites while we waited for our food. It was so good that we took one bite and ordered two more so that we could each have our own. My hubby ordered the fried calamari, which was coated in a delicious sauce. Our entrées were the fish tacos, fish and chips and a salmon BLT that was on special. All were perfectly cooked, hearty, and had sauces that were unique and delicious. The Key lime pie for dessert was very good as well-not too rich. The staff was friendly, and the manager came by to ask about our meal. We'll definitely be back! Show Less
Meghan L.
Lewes, DE
August 9, 2017
Perfectly cooked - Sat at bar last night. Started with boom boom shrimp - perfectly cooked. Ate seated scallop entree with cheesy grits & delicious smoked bacon, and the tuna special with coconut rice & shaved veggies. Bartender was polite & informative. Su... Show More Sat at bar last night. Started with boom boom shrimp - perfectly cooked. Ate seated scallop entree with cheesy grits & delicious smoked bacon, and the tuna special with coconut rice & shaved veggies. Bartender was polite & informative. Super yummy meal all around!!! Show Less
Jennifer C.
September 18, 2015
Calamari to die for! - Some of the best food that I have had in years. My steak was perfect, and the calamari was to die for! Super fresh original combinations of incredible seafood, with super huge shrimp. I would recommend it to everyone.
Bridget K.
Bethany Beach, DE
July 23, 2015
Crazy Rueban Sammich - wesome bartenders, great beer selection on tap and crazy rueban sammich! It was 2 stories tall..delicious rueban on the top and turkey with slaw on the bottom (more than 2 meals!
Jovanna B.
Delicious dinner - Much more than standard seafood dishes. Prepared in a very creative, tasty manner; generous portion. My favorite corn crab bisque & scallops over grits with bits of heavenly smoked bacon & corn. Wonderful service. Can't wait to return on next trip
ocloanshark
Ocean City, MD
June 18, 2015
Great Happy Hour - Stopped in for happy hour and had a great time. Great craft beer selection and the food was very good. Great wings, mussels and shrimp. Will definitely come back again!!!
marty15101
Allison Park, Pennsylvania
July 2, 2017
Absolutely Outstanding! - Excellent food. Excellent service. You will LOVE this place. Our server, Mary, helped make it even better. Highly recommend.

Close

Your browser is out-of-date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly.

Get More Information